FCC Research Guides: ENGL 101: Education Theme: Finding Scholarly Sources

Best FCC Database for Scholarly Articles on Education Topics

ERIC (EBSCO)
Thousands of Education journal articles and reports. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.

Some databases focus on specific subjects. Read the descriptions to determine the best database for your needs.

Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Thousands of full-text general, education, medical, and business articles and documents. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Covers all disciplines of business, economics, and management. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
APA PsycARTICLES (EBSCO)
Scholarly Peer-Reviewed articles in Psychology. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
JSTOR
Includes scholarly journals in history, political science, sociology, math, statistics,and other arts, humanities, and social science fields. NOTICE: If this image, , is displayed next to an article, that article is not available to read for free.

FCC Library Databases

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO)
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.
Films on Demand
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.
Statista
The world's largest statistical portal focused on businesses, industries, and media. Also includes infographics and charts.

Websites

American Education Research Association
Research on teaching and assessment. This link goes directly to the list of reports, journals, and other publications created by the organization. Some reports and journals may not be available to the public.
National Education Association (NEA): Reference Center
Organization that is "committed to advancing the cause of public education." Link goes to a list of research reports, policy briefs, and other documents created by the NEA.
US Department of Education: Research & Statistics
Government agency devoted to education. Link goes to the "Data" page.
USA.gov
Search Federal, State, and Local Government documents and websites all in one search!
FCC Library's Statistics and Demographics Research Guide
Guide to finding all sorts of statistic and demographic information at the national, international, and local level.
Google Scholar
WARNING: Many of the articles found in a Google Scholar do not include full-text articles without payment. Look for a short link to the right of the main result link. If there is a short link the article may be available for free. NEVER PAY for an article.

Approaching Scholarly Sources Tutorial
Scholarly sources are a big deal in academic research. They may seem scary at first - but don't worry! This two part tutorial will demonstrate what makes scholarly sources awesome, as well as how to find and access scholarly sources using one of our academic journal databases.
Using Academic Search Premier for Scholarly Research
Now that you know why Scholarly sources are great, use this tutorial to learn how to find them in Academic Search Premier, one of our most versatile and useful scholarly databases.
Scholarly Sources vs. Popular Sources
Know the difference to help yourself choose better sources.
Boolean Searching
Use boolean operators to maximize your searches.