FCC Research Guides: Remote Instruction Guide: Content Resources for Remote Instruction

Links to Content Resources

Find links to resources in the following areas.

Content created by the Library and Learning Centers:

Resources to Support Student Learning

Content resources for each subject area/department:

Free General resources:

If you need help or have a question about content for your course, see the resources below:

ALLY Web Accessibility
by Alesha Rosen Last Updated Mar 1, 2022 58 views this year
Copyright Resource Guide
by Colleen McKnight Last Updated Sep 19, 2024 195 views this year

Email a Librarian for Help!

Resources to Support Student Learning

A list of resources from the FCC Library and Learning Centers to help your students transition to online learning, study better, write for college, and conduct college level research.

Online Student Success Workshops

Give Test Anxiety the Axe
Learn about test anxiety and how to use the biology behind it to your advantage. Learn how to make the most of your memory, get tips for a successful test day, and be introduced to FCC resources and key people to help you succeed and thrive. Takes 20-30 minutes to complete.
Slaying the Procrastination Monster
Learn techniques and tools to combat procrastination, identify steps to make large projects easier, and get to know FCC resources and key people to help you succeed and thrive. Takes 20-30 minutes to complete.
Close Encounters of the Math Kind: Dealing with Math Anxiety
Learn about the symptoms and causes of math anxiety, discover different approaches to dealing with it, and get to know FCC resources and key people to help you succeed and thrive. Takes 20-30 minutes to complete.
Read Faster, Note-Take Smarter
Students will learn proven reading, annotating, and note-taking methods that will make studying easier. Student will also get to know FCC resources and key people to help them succeed and thrive. Takes 45-50 minutes to complete.

Interactive Library Tutorials

Virtual Information Literacy Orientation Series (VILO)
This online orientation contains self-paced modules focused on the research process, including understanding and using background information and scholarly sources, and interactive tutorials to walk students through using two of our most popular library databases, GVRL and Academic Search Premier.
Evaluating Sources
A tutorial on why you should evaluate and assess the sources you use in your academic work. This tutorial introduces the CRAAP test as a metric for evaluation, and applies the CRAAP test in the context of opinions and their role in academic writing.
Plagiarism Tutorial
An interactive guide to help students identify different types of plagiarism and avoid unintended plagiarism, it leads directly into the Why We Cite tutorial.
Why We Cite Tutorial
Automatically loads after the Plagarism Prevention tutorial, but can be used as a stand-alone module. It discusses why citing is important, the basic anatomy of a citation, and the contexts in which students need to cite.
All Library Database Tutorials
Link to all of the Library Database tutorials available: PSYCArticles, Academic Search Premier, Gale Virtual Reference Library, and CQ Researcher.

Academic Skills Resource Guides

Online Learning Skills and Tips

Study Skills for Academic Success
by Colleen McKnight Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 4416 views this year
College Writing Guide
by Colleen McKnight Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 6822 views this year
How to do Research in College
by Colleen McKnight Last Updated Nov 8, 2024 740 views this year

Communication, Humanities, and Art Resources

Film, Educational Video and Music Streaming Library Databases

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive collection of classical music online, offering over 550,000 tracks of classical music, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music.

Other Feature Film Resources

Kanopy and Hoopla from Frederick County Public Library
Allows 10 viewings a month with an FCPL Card. Apply HERE for a digital card.
Open Culture- Free Movie List
This is a website that provides links to movies that are available for free online. This is not a database and you will see numerous ads.

E-Books

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Finding Open Educational Resources

Ideas for Remote Teaching Resources

Online Art & Design Studio Instruction in the Age of "Social Distancing"
A Facebook group where faculty from across the USA are sharing their ideas about alternate instruction and materials.

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

Computer/Business/Technology Resources

Academic Skills Guides

Study Skills for Academic Success
by Colleen McKnight Last Updated Nov 20, 2024 4416 views this year

Resources for Computer Science

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

E-Books

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Finding Open Educational Resources

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

English and ESOL Resources

Academic Skills Guides

College Writing Guide
Created by the FCC Tutoring and Writing Center to provide student resources for the full writing process.
ESL Guide

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

Other Feature Film Resources

Kanopy and Hoopla from Frederick County Public Library
Allows 10 viewings a month with an FCPL Card. Apply HERE for a digital card.

E-Books

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Finding Open Educational Resources

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

Math Resources

Academic Skills Guides and Virtual Workshops

Close Encounters of the Math Kind: Dealing with Math Anxiety
Learn about the symptoms and causes of math anxiety, discover different approaches to dealing with it, and get to know FCC resources and key people to help you succeed and thrive. Takes 20-30 minutes to complete.
Study Skills Resources for Math
A great list of study skill tips for math curated by the FCC Learning Center Team.

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

E-Books

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Finding Open Educational Resources

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

Math

Nursing and Health Resources

Academic Skills Guides

Learning Styles for Nursing Students
Video explaining how to use different learning styles to more effectively study in Nursing School.
TEAS Testing Resources
Study guides and practice tests for the TEAS.

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

JOVE:Science Education Video Collections
Educational videos designed to showcase basic techniques and concepts in Chemistry and Advance Biology. Also includes an online Chemistry Lab Manual

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.

E-Books

Nursing Made Incredibly Easy This link opens in a new window
Thirty core ebook titles from the popular "Nursing Made Incredibly Easy" series along with care plans, case studies, and audio and visual files.
Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.
DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5.

Finding Open Educational Resources

All Databases Available in the Following Subjects

Science Resources

Academic Skills Guide

Study Skills for Academic Success: Science
Guide with science resources curated by the FCC STEM Learning Center.

Online/Virtual Lab Resources

JOVE:Science Education Video Collections
Educational videos designed to showcase basic techniques and concepts in Chemistry and Advance Biology. Also includes an online Chemistry Lab Manual
PhET: Interactive Simulations for Science and Math
Free interactive math and science simulations. PhET sims are based on extensive education research and engage students through an intuitive, game-like environment where students learn through exploration and discovery.
MERLOT: Open Education Virtual Labs
A collection of virtual labs in a variety of science disciplines.

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.

E-Books

Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Find Other Open Educational Resources

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

Social Science and Education Resources

Academic Skills Guide

College Writing Guide
Created by the FCC Tutoring and Writing Center to provide student resources for the full writing process.

Films and Educational Video from the Library Databases

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Search for documentary and educational videos and clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.

How to Link to Films on Demand Clips
Quick guide on how to link to a clip from our Films on Demand database.

Other Feature Film Resources

Kanopy and Hoopla from Frederick County Public Library
Allows 10 viewings a month with an FCPL Card. Apply HERE for a digital card.

E-Books

DSM-5 Library This link opens in a new window
Online access to the DSM-5, DSM-5 Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview, DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, and Spanish Edition of the Desk Reference to the Diagnostic Criteria From DSM-5.
Ebook Academic Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
180,000+ ebooks covering a broad range of academic subjects, and includes titles from leading university presses and academic publishers.

Finding Open Educational Resources

All Databases and Guides Available in the Following Subjects

Frederick County Public Library Resources

There are many FCPL Digital Resources available for faculty and student use. The link below brings you to the main Online Learning resources available.

To access these resources students and faculty must have an FCPL Library Card number. Anyone with a Maryland Address can apply for a digital card for immediate access. Follow the directions located on the Apply for an FCPL Library Card page.

FCPL Online Learning Resources
All of the Online Learning Resources available through FCPL.

Free Feature Film Resources

Film Database from the Library

Feature Films for Education This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of full-length feature films including dramas, literary adaptations, blockbusters, classics, science fiction, environmental titles, foreign films, social issues, animation studies, Academy Award® winners, and more.

Film Resources from the Frederick County Public Library

Kanopy and Hoopla from Frederick County Public Library
Allows 10 viewings a month with an FCPL Card. Apply HERE for a digital card.

Free and Open Film Resources

Canadian Film Board Fiction Films
If this link stops working, start at: https://www.nfb.ca/explore-all-films/ and select “fiction” from the genre pull-down menu.
Chilean Feature Films Collection
National fiction and documentary films made between 1910 and today.
Digital Moving Image Collections
From Library of Congress. Several hundred early motion pictures are viewable on the Library's Digital Collections web page.
Fandango Movie Clips
The Fandango MOVIECLIPS channel is the largest collection of licensed movie clips on the web.
Moving Image Archive: Movies
From Internet Archive. This library contains over a million digital movies uploaded by Archive users which range from classic full-length films, to daily alternative news broadcasts, to cartoons and concerts. Many of these videos are available for free download.
Open Culture- Free Movie List
This is a website that provides links to movies that are available for free online. This is not a database and you will see numerous ads.
Russian Film Hub
Large collection of streamable Russian films that can be filtered by decade, director, and genre.
Tubi
Free and lots to choose from, but A LOT of commercials.