Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English 101: Frederick, MD Theme: How to Search Databases

Complete Overview of Research Process

Library Database Tutorials

Need more help?
These step-by-step database tutorials will show you how to use specific library databases

Boolean Searching

Databases automatically place:

AND

Between each of the keywords you type into the search box.

This will only find articles that include ALL your keywords.

A venn diagram that shows the word Cat in one circle and the word Dog in another circle. A small section of both circles overlap and is colored in blue. Under the image is a title that says Cat AND Dog. The And is the same blue as the area where the two circles overlap.

The MORE keywords you use the FEWER articles you will receive.

Choose your keywords carefully and don't add too many to a search.

Research Skills Worksheet

Download these worksheet to practice searching library databases, creating keywords, and evaulating sources.

What Makes a Good Research Question?

What makes a good research question?

  • Narrow Focus
  • Answer is not obvious
  • You can actually research it (there is evidence out there for you to find)
  • Question is clear and has a single focus

Focusing Your Topic

The best way to Focus Your Topic is to ask questions about it. Consider the five W's when trying to figure out what you want to research:

Who? Limit your topic to a specific person or group.

What? Limit your topic to a particular aspect of the topic or discipline.

Where? Limit your topic to a particular place or region.

When? Limit your topic to a particular period of time.

Why? Ask why the topic is important.

Remember you can limit your topic in more than one way. For example limit it to a "who" and a "what" or a "when" and a "where".

Mix and match the five Ws until you've created a Good Research Question.

Craft Keywords from a Research Question

Create Keywords from your research question

 

  • Draw a chart like the one below or print out this handout to create your search terms.
    • Place the main concepts of your research question horizontally in the first row.
    • Add synonyms and like ideas vertically under each original concept.
    • Try to come up with at least two or three synonyms for each concept.
    • Try different combinations of keywords when searching the databases.

 Research Question: How do violent video games affect children? 

Main Concepts  ----------------------------------->

Synonyms and Like Ideas

 Video Games

Children 

 Violent

 media

 juveniles

 violence

 television

 adolescents

aggression

 

 

 

 

 Need help coming up with synonyms? Try using www.thesaurus.com or looking at “related searches” in Google.

Databases can also give you ideas for other words. Do a search with your original concepts and see what you get!

 

 

Frederick Community College prohibits discrimination against any person on the basis of age, ancestry, citizenship status, color, creed, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, genetic information, marital status, mental or physical disability, national origin, race, religious affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in its activities, admissions, educational programs, and employment.