It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Includes scholarly journals in history, political science, sociology, math, statistics,and other arts, humanities, and social science fields. NOTICE: If this image, , is displayed next to an article, that article is not available to read for free.
Full-text articles from The Baltimore Sun, The Christian Science Monitor, the New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post newspapers from the 1970s to the present.
Library Database Search Tips
How many keywords should you use when searching a database? Find out below:
Video created by the Kimbel Library at Coastal Carolina University.
Online Scholarly Journal Databases
GoogleScholar is a discovery tool that helps you find scholarly literature related to your topic.
Easy to search
Shows you the impact of an article (how many times it has been cited by other published articles).
Not full text (with some exceptions). Unless the article/book is free to the public, you will be asked to pay to view the full text. NEVER PAY FOR AN ARTICLE/BOOK! Ask a librarian for help in locating a full-text copy for you.
Has a limited search scope. You can miss out on other available articles on a topic if you only use Google Scholar.
If you can't find the article or book you need in FCC's Library, you can request an Interlibrary Loan. Interlibrary Loan (ILL) allows us to ask other libraries to send specific books or articles found in their collections for you to use.
Scholary Sources VS Popular Sources
Author: Written by experts (scientists, professors, scholars) in a particular field.
Audience: Written for other experts in a particular field.
Language: Very technical and scholarly. Not easily understood.
Citations: Provide complete and formal citations for sources.
Review Process: Often reviewed by a panel of scholars in the field being studied. (Peer-Reviewed)
Author: Written by professional writers, journalists, or members of the general public.
Audience: Written for the general public.
Language: Basic and clear. Easily understood.
Citations: Provide informal or no citations for sources.
Review Process: Reviewed by an editor or self-published with no formal review process.
REMEMBER: Popular DOES NOT equal bad. Check with your professors to find out which popular sources they accept.
Frederick Community College prohibits discrimination against any person on the basis of age, ancestry, citizenship status, color, creed, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, genetic information, marital status, mental or physical disability, national origin, race, religious affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in its activities, admissions, educational programs, and employment.