FCC Research Guides: ENGL101 Resource Guide for Instructors and Students: They Say I Say Resources

Instructor Notes

TSIS Instructor Notes
This version is for the text with readings. Our text is without.

NOTE: In Fall 2017, the bookstore manager noted that there are TWO versions of the 3rd edition currently in circulation. The main difference is that one is updated with information regarding MLA 8 and the other, while an older version is MLA 7.

Preface and Chapter 1

Preface: What is Academic Writing?
This link provides an example of what an “academic” voice sounds like while emphasizing that writing in an academic voice means using words that the writer is comfortable with and understands.
Chapter 1: The Nature of Argument
This link provides a chart with the various types of rhetorical modes one can use to approach an argument.
Integrating evidence into your own writing
Synthesising Evidence
Four exercises on synthesizing evidence (click and drag, drag and drop, click and watch).

Chapters 2 and 3

Chapter 2: Integrating Sources
Info on summary, paraphrasing, and quoting.
Summary and Paraphrase
Info on summary and evaluation, with exercises. Via FCC's OER text.
Chapter 3: Quoting
This link provides a brief tutorial on the function and use of quotations.
Counter Arguments
One page resource on purpose and organization of rebuttal sections
More on Counter Arguments
Via an FCC LIB Guide.

Chapter 4 and 5

Chapter 4: Responding...(yes/no)
This link provides an example of the argument organization. Via FCC's OER text.
CH 5: Transitions (Conjunctions)
Overview of various types of conjunctions.
VIDEO: CH 5: Paragraph Transitions
Six minute video on paragraph transitions. CC is present and accurate.
QUIZ: CH 5: Coherence
Overview of coherence and quiz (type in the blanks analyzing transition structures).

Chapters 6-10

Chapter 6: Anticipating Counter Arguments
This link provides examples of rebuttals.
CH 6: Appropriate Language
Working with the right words. Via FCC's OER text.
CH 6: Tone
Background on tone.
QUIZ: CH 6: Revision
Revision exercise with drop down menu.
Ch 6: Revising, Editing, and Proofreading
Comprehensive resource on revising, editing, and proofreading.
CH 6: Revising and Editing
Resource with steps for revising. Via FCC's OER text.
CH 7: Purpose
Background on writing with a sense of purpose, with pop-up exercise composing 2 paragraphs
Ch 7: Audience
Resource on audience analysis. Via FCC's OER text.
PREZI: CH 8: Making Connections in Writing
By Julie Shattuck

Chapters 11-14

Chapter 11: Revision
This link provides a downloadable PDF revision checklist for the argumentative essay.
Chapter 12: Contextualizing an Argument in live class discussion
This link blog post with works cited that adds a wonderful supplement to this chapter on how to respond to others’ responses in live discussion. The author provides strategies for how to actively listen.
Chapter 13: Digital Communication
This link provides information for writing emails and blogs as well as for participating in discussion boards and social media.

Chapters 15-17

Chapter 16: Writing in the Sciences
This link provides a brief description of the IMRAD outline (Introduction, Methods, Results, and Discussions)often used to write papers for the sciences and social sciences.
Chapter 17: Writing in the Social Sciences
This link provides a description of a literature review, a Prezi with steps for writing a literature review and a sample literature review.