Skip to main content
Library Databases for Scholarly Sources
These are the Library Databases where you will likely find SCHOLARLY Sources, like Journals:
Before searching in these databases make sure you have created a research question and that you have broken it down into keywords.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Best Database to start. Includes scholarly journals in a variety of fields. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Business Source Premier (EBSCO)
Great source for finding Business or Economic specific journals. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Great source for education related articles and research. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Best database for enviromental science journals. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX
Health Source - Academic/Nursing Edition (EBSCO)
Good for medical and health related journal articles. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX
Great sources for Peer-Reviewed Journals related to Psychology. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Includes scholarly journals in history, political science, sociology, math, statistics,and other arts, humanities, and social science fields. NOTICE:
If this image,
, is displayed next to an article, that article is not available to read for free.
Search the Library Catalog for Scholarly Books
The Library Catalog provides access to both popular and scholarly books. Search a broad topic below to see what you can find.
If an item is labeled an "Electronic Book," use the "click to view" link to access it.
Library Databases for Popular Sources
These are the Library Databases where you will likely find POPULAR sources, like newspapers and magazines.
Find Other Kinds of Scholarly Content
Sometimes other types of scholarly or authoritative content is needed to help defend your paper's thesis.
Try out these resources to find specialized types of content.
The world's largest statistical portal focused on businesses, industries, and media. Also includes infographics and charts. Off-campus you may receive a security warning when logging in. On the warning page, click "Advanced" and then link that appears to go to the database.
Films on Demand
Search for video and video clips on a variety of subjects from a number of producers such as BBC, PBS, and the History Channel.
WARNING: Many of the articles found in a Google Scholar do not include full-text articles without payment. Look for a short link to the right of the main result link. If there is a short link the article may be available for free. NEVER PAY for an article.
Scholary Sources VS Popular Sources
- Author: Written by experts (scientists, professors, scholars) in a particular field.
- Audience: Written for other experts in a particular field.
- Language: Very technical and scholarly. Not easily understood.
- Purpose: Published by non-profit or education organizations to communicate new ideas.
- Characteristics: Tend to be longer and are on very specific topics.
- Citations: Provide complete and formal citations for sources.
- Review Process: Often reviewed by a panel of scholars in the field being studied. (Peer-Reviewed)
- Author: Written by professional writers, journalists, or members of the general public.
- Audience: Written for the general public.
- Language: Basic and clear. Easily understood.
- Purpose: Often published by for-profit companies for revenue and profit.
- Characteristics: Tend to be short and on topics of general interest.
- Citations: Provide informal or no citations for sources.
- Review Process: Reviewed by an editor or self-published with no formal review process.
REMEMBER: Popular DOES NOT equal bad. Check with your professors to find out which popular sources they accept.
Frederick Community College prohibits discrimination against any person on the basis of age, ancestry, citizenship status, color, creed, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, genetic information, marital status, mental or physical disability, national origin, race, religious affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in its activities, admissions, educational programs, and employment.