Skip to main content
Suggested Library Databases
Best Databases for scholarly and popular articles on current events!
Find Statistics for your Topic!
The world's largest statistical portal focused on businesses, industries, and media. Also includes infographics and charts. Off-campus you may receive a security warning when logging in. On the warning page, click "Advanced" and then link that appears to go to the database.
Guide that links you to many statistic websites from governments and other organizations.
Library Database Search Tips
How many keywords should you use when searching a database? Find out below:
Video created by the Kimbel Library at Coastal Carolina University.
Find News Articles About Your Topic
World news from the BBC Network.
American magazine with in-depth current event articles and other news.
Online Scholarly Journal Databases
WARNING: Many web-based search engines do not provide full-text articles without payment. NEVER PAY for an article. Instead submit an Interlibrary Loan request; it’s likely that we can get it for you for free.
WARNING: Many of the articles found in a Google Scholar do not include full-text articles without payment. Look for a short link to the right of the main result link. If there is a short link the article may be available for free. NEVER PAY for an article.
Scholary Sources VS Popular Sources
- Author: Written by experts (scientists, professors, scholars) in a particular field.
- Audience: Written for other experts in a particular field.
- Language: Very technical and scholarly. Not easily understood.
- Purpose: Published by non-profit or education organizations to communicate new ideas.
- Characteristics: Tend to be longer and are on very specific topics.
- Citations: Provide complete and formal citations for sources.
- Review Process: Often reviewed by a panel of scholars in the field being studied. (Peer-Reviewed)
- Author: Written by professional writers, journalists, or members of the general public.
- Audience: Written for the general public.
- Language: Basic and clear. Easily understood.
- Purpose: Often published by for-profit companies for revenue and profit.
- Characteristics: Tend to be short and on topics of general interest.
- Citations: Provide informal or no citations for sources.
- Review Process: Reviewed by an editor or self-published with no formal review process.
REMEMBER: Popular DOES NOT equal bad. Check with your professors to find out which popular sources they accept.
Frederick Community College prohibits discrimination against any person on the basis of age, ancestry, citizenship status, color, creed, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, genetic information, marital status, mental or physical disability, national origin, race, religious affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in its activities, admissions, educational programs, and employment.