Skip to main content
Suggested Library Databases for Scholarly Sources
Library Databases have both Scholarly Journals and Popular Magazines. Make sure you know what type of source you need for your assignments.
Use the Scholarly vs. Popular Table to help you identify your source.
Also check out our resources for Stress Management.
Health Source - Academic/Nursing Edition (EBSCO)
Great source of trade journals related to health, nursing, and medicine as well as peer-reviewed journals. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Academic Search Premier (EBSCO)
Good sources for scholarly journals, covers multiple subjects including medicine. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Best database for scholarly, peer-reviewed journals related to Psychology. TO LIMIT TO SCHOLARLY ARTICLES CHECK THE "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals" BOX.
Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Good source for Popular Magazines and Trade Journals related to health and nutrition.
Citations to hundreds of medical journal articles.
Best source for peer-reviewed nursing journals.
Online Scholarly Journal Databases
WARNING: Many web-based search engines do not provide full-text articles without payment. NEVER PAY for an article. Instead submit an Interlibrary Loan request; it’s likely that we can get it for you for free.
Full-text articles in the biomedical field and life sciences from the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).
Public Library of Science Collections (PLOS)
PLOS Collections aggregate and curate related content from PLOS journals and the PLOS Blogs Network to provide structured access to papers of interest in the PLOS corpus and demonstrate innovative approaches to the assessment, organization and reuse of research, data and commentary.
WARNING: Many of the articles found in a Google Scholar do not include full-text articles without payment. Look for a short link to the right of the main result link. If there is a short link the article may be available for free. NEVER PAY for an article.
Library Database Search Tips
How many keywords should you use when searching a database? Find out below:
Video created by the Kimbel Library at Coastal Carolina University.
How to Identify Research Studies
There are two types of articles you will find in peer-reviewed journals:
- Reviews look at other peoples' research and summarize research in a specific area of study.
- Research studies report the actual research being conducted by the authors of the article.
Research Studies will often have these distinct sections:
- Abstract: Brief summary of the article and its contents.
- Introduction: Provides background and possibly discusses earlier research.
- Methods: Lays out the methods used to conduct the research.
- Results: Reports the results of the research. Often includes charts and/or tables.
- Discussion and/or Conclusion: Discusses the results for the research and talks about other steps that can be taken.
- Literature Cited or Bibliography: Lists sources cited in the article.
Check to see if the article has a METHODS section and a RESULTS section. If it DOES NOT have these two sections IT IS NOT A RESEARCH STUDY.
Scholary Sources VS Popular Sources
- Author: Written by experts (scientists, professors, scholars) in a particular field.
- Audience: Written for other experts in a particular field.
- Language: Very technical and scholarly. Not easily understood.
- Purpose: Published by non-profit or education organizations to communicate new ideas.
- Characteristics: Tend to be longer and are on very specific topics.
- Citations: Provide complete and formal citations for sources.
- Review Process: Often reviewed by a panel of scholars in the field being studied. (Peer-Reviewed)
- Author: Written by professional writers, journalists, or members of the general public.
- Audience: Written for the general public.
- Language: Basic and clear. Easily understood.
- Purpose: Often published by for-profit companies for revenue and profit.
- Characteristics: Tend to be short and on topics of general interest.
- Citations: Provide informal or no citations for sources.
- Review Process: Reviewed by an editor or self-published with no formal review process.
REMEMBER: Popular DOES NOT equal bad. Check with your professors to find out which popular sources they accept.
Frederick Community College prohibits discrimination against any person on the basis of age, ancestry, citizenship status, color, creed, ethnicity, gender identity and expression, genetic information, marital status, mental or physical disability, national origin, race, religious affiliation, sex, sexual orientation, or veteran status in its activities, admissions, educational programs, and employment.